advertise

Go Back   CGFeedback > CG Forums > Technical Area

Technical Area Post your technical questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-03-2016, 09:08 AM   #1
Bennell
Junior Member
Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Real Name: Robert
Default Yeti Clumping Node Issue



For some reason whenever I use the clumping node in yeti, the fur doesn't clump! Can someone please help me with this problem?

http://oi64.tinypic.com/jkf0xu.jpg
Bennell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2016, 08:18 PM   #2
metamesh
Senior Member
Points: 11,483, Level: 70 Points: 11,483, Level: 70 Points: 11,483, Level: 70
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver
Company: ILM Vancouver
Posts: 110
Real Name: Alex Huguet
Default

in yeti 2 yo can't clump using the groom, you will need a second branch that generates hairs ( fibers ) and plug that in the second slot of the clumping node
metamesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 02:45 AM   #3
Bennell
Junior Member
Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Real Name: Robert
Default

What about guide curves?
Bennell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 04:18 AM   #4
Bennell
Junior Member
Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Real Name: Robert
Default

I've used the convert node and it does nothing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	YetiProblem2.JPG
Views:	201
Size:	198.1 KB
ID:	29010  
Bennell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 07:27 AM   #5
ulf
Veteran
Points: 11,348, Level: 70 Points: 11,348, Level: 70 Points: 11,348, Level: 70
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
ulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: munich
Posts: 593
Real Name: ulf gieseler
Default

i am not on my 3d pc, but i think you need to input the other import node as well to the convert node.
__________________
http://www.ulfgieseler.de
ulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 11:56 AM   #6
Bennell
Junior Member
Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22 Points: 1,570, Level: 22
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Real Name: Robert
Default

I've done that and still no clumping.
Bennell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 12:32 PM   #7
Geuse
Member
Points: 6,062, Level: 50 Points: 6,062, Level: 50 Points: 6,062, Level: 50
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Real Name: Dag
Default

Have you figured it out yet?
Otherwise, I've been playing around with yeti today and gonna pick up where I left off three years ago.

Here's an example scene in maya 2016. I'm using Vray for rendering and if you don't have it installed, I'll upload a file without the vray light.
Just remove the .zip extension. It's an .ma-file

It might look a little convoluted at first, but just ask if you don't follow the graph. The attribute node at the end on branch one, I learned from Bjorn on the forum from this tutorial:
https://vimeo.com/67676217

It makes it more controllable as I have painted where the clumping should happen and how much influence it's going to have.
Attached Files
File Type: zip yeti_clumping.ma.zip (154.1 KB, 107 views)
Geuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2016, 06:54 AM   #8
Geuse
Member
Points: 6,062, Level: 50 Points: 6,062, Level: 50 Points: 6,062, Level: 50
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Real Name: Dag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thres456 View Post
What about guide curves?
sbobet666
What about it? Clumping around guide curves?
Geuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +13. The time now is 02:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.