advertise

Go Back   CGFeedback > CG Forums > Technical Area

Technical Area Post your technical questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2013, 09:36 PM   #1
Mikademius
Member
Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 77
Real Name: Martin Andersson
Send a message via Skype™ to Mikademius
Default Reading UDIMS in ZBrush



Hi.

Anyone know a way to read textures with multiple UV tiles (UDIM) in ZBrush?
Or, is it even possible...

m
__________________
Martin Andersson
www.animation-hut.no
Mikademius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 02:15 AM   #2
soulty
Member
Points: 22,445, Level: 93 Points: 22,445, Level: 93 Points: 22,445, Level: 93
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
soulty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Company: www.soulty.com
Posts: 77
Real Name: adam sacco
Default

Multi map exporter - file names - UV tile ID format. Change this to UDIM and they will export just fine.
__________________
Portfolio
soulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 10:02 AM   #3
Mikademius
Member
Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 77
Real Name: Martin Andersson
Send a message via Skype™ to Mikademius
Default

I know
I was asking about read, not write
__________________
Martin Andersson
www.animation-hut.no
Mikademius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 10:37 AM   #4
soulty
Member
Points: 22,445, Level: 93 Points: 22,445, Level: 93 Points: 22,445, Level: 93
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
soulty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Company: www.soulty.com
Posts: 77
Real Name: adam sacco
Default

I don't think it can.
__________________
Portfolio
soulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:01 AM   #5
Kel Solaar
Super Moderator
Points: 46,966, Level: 100 Points: 46,966, Level: 100 Points: 46,966, Level: 100
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
Kel Solaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Company: Weta Digital
Posts: 2,440
Real Name: Thomas Mansencal
Default

You can't unfortunately! 64bit version most likely!

KS
Kel Solaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 05:45 PM   #6
abvfx
Senior Member
Points: 6,609, Level: 53 Points: 6,609, Level: 53 Points: 6,609, Level: 53
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
abvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 137
Real Name: Andrew Browne
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kel Solaar View Post
64bit version most likely!

KS
Can't wait for that to finally happen. 64 bit, nice working layers ... rendering more akin to keyshot/marmoset just something a little more intuitive than the current setup. If they manage those 3 things. Well they couldn't it would be too much for me to handle.

I would be ok with polypaint still being the only means of texturing, with such high poly counts it would be close to 1-1 for uv space. So long as you weren't doing 2k maps for every 4 inches of the model.

If pixologic want more of a challenge then throw in ptex and opensubdiv :P
__________________
blog twitter tumblr
abvfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 10:51 PM   #7
Mikademius
Member
Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40 Points: 4,099, Level: 40
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 77
Real Name: Martin Andersson
Send a message via Skype™ to Mikademius
Default

64 bit... But I can't wait for Zbrush 9

64 bit needs to happen soon. ZBrush is losing ground because of this and is getting more and more behind when it comes to pipeline work. It's fantastic for concepts, but these days assets are heavy and I don't even dare to use layers We'll see what they come up with for Z5.
__________________
Martin Andersson
www.animation-hut.no
Mikademius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 08:32 PM   #8
Lapaev
Veteran
Points: 11,911, Level: 71 Points: 11,911, Level: 71 Points: 11,911, Level: 71
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Francisco
Company: Intuitive Surgical, Inc
Posts: 426
Real Name: Roman Lapaev
Send a message via MSN to Lapaev Send a message via Skype™ to Lapaev
Default

Zbrush ewwwwwah )
Lapaev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2017, 09:58 AM   #9
Brainmatter
Junior Member
Points: 5,262, Level: 46 Points: 5,262, Level: 46 Points: 5,262, Level: 46
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Company: Industrial Light & Magic
Posts: 26
Real Name: Darrell A.
Default

yes you can import multiple UDIM textures into zbrush:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OoiQk6VXV8
Brainmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 04:28 AM   #10
lensmall002
Banned
Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2 Points: 122, Level: 2
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 31
Real Name: lensmall
Default

an't wait for that to finally happen. 64 bit, nice working layers ... rendering more akin to keyshot/marmoset just something a little more intuitive than the current setup.





สูตรบาคาร่า
goldenslot casino
lensmall002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +13. The time now is 09:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.