advertise

Go Back   CGFeedback > CG Forums > Technical Area

Technical Area Post your technical questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 03:16 AM   #11
mala
Member
Points: 3,764, Level: 38 Points: 3,764, Level: 38 Points: 3,764, Level: 38
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wild West
Company: Esper Design
Posts: 80
Real Name: Merry Hodgkinson
Default



Wow! you've got loads of detail in those meshes.

What was the resolution of the photos you took? and how many photos to make one model for example the shoe?

Do you use just noise patterns or fringe patterns as well for the projector image?

does the software control the projector as well as the camera? and can you just "manually" load the photos into the software or does it need to control the camera and directly download the images into the software?

How quickly can you take 2 photos?....this is important for head scans.

Sorry for so many questions but this is interesting stuff!
Cheers,
mala
mala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 10:33 PM   #12
Neo307
Junior Member
Points: 2,264, Level: 28 Points: 2,264, Level: 28 Points: 2,264, Level: 28
Activity: 21% Activity: 21% Activity: 21%
 
Neo307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Russia, Voronezh
Company: Russian3DScanner LLC
Posts: 8
Real Name: Andrew Krovopuskov
Send a message via Skype™ to Neo307
Default

Hey! Thanks a lot Merry!

Quote:
What was the resolution of the photos you took? and how many photos to make one model for example the shoe?
Well there's an upper limit of resolution wich defined by the projector resolution (in my case 1024x768). Our experiments showed that increasing the working image resolution upper than 1.3 - 1.4 Mp would not take effect on scanning quality due to projector resolution limitation. Anyway one of the tricks is to take photos at the highest resolution possible (say 15 Mp). The main effect is when you reduce the resolution down to 1.3 Mp you're reducing the noise as well.

Quote:
Do you use just noise patterns or fringe patterns as well for the projector image?
Yes, fringle patterns. It usually takes 13-20 photos to take one scan. The amount of photos is defined by quality you want.

Quote:
does the software control the projector as well as the camera? and can you just "manually" load the photos into the software or does it need to control the camera and directly download the images into the software?
Yes! One of the coolest things in the software is that it controls everything. It really takes two button clicks to get PLY point-cloud and a little bit more clicks to take a color-calibration and 3D-calibration.

Quote:
How quickly can you take 2 photos?....this is important for head scans.
Well for now it takes 6-8 sec to capture one scan. It fully depends on Canon camera fps wich is 2.5-3.5 frames per second in most cases. Yes, many cameras capable of doing more fps but under computer control it only possible to take 2.5-3.5 fps. May be we missed something, who knows...

Anyway in upcoming version there will be an ability to scan human faces at 10fps and possibly even at 25fps but this is something I can not tell about for now
Neo307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:18 AM   #13
Infinite
3D Mechanic
Points: 144,043, Level: 100 Points: 144,043, Level: 100 Points: 144,043, Level: 100
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Suffolk
Company: Infinite-Realities
Posts: 1,134
Real Name: Lee Perry-Smith
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo307 View Post
Hey! Thanks a lot Merry!



Well there's an upper limit of resolution wich defined by the projector resolution (in my case 1024x768). Our experiments showed that increasing the working image resolution upper than 1.3 - 1.4 Mp would not take effect on scanning quality due to projector resolution limitation. Anyway one of the tricks is to take photos at the highest resolution possible (say 15 Mp). The main effect is when you reduce the resolution down to 1.3 Mp you're reducing the noise as well.



Yes, fringle patterns. It usually takes 13-20 photos to take one scan. The amount of photos is defined by quality you want.



Yes! One of the coolest things in the software is that it controls everything. It really takes two button clicks to get PLY point-cloud and a little bit more clicks to take a color-calibration and 3D-calibration.



Well for now it takes 6-8 sec to capture one scan. It fully depends on Canon camera fps wich is 2.5-3.5 frames per second in most cases. Yes, many cameras capable of doing more fps but under computer control it only possible to take 2.5-3.5 fps. May be we missed something, who knows...

Anyway in upcoming version there will be an ability to scan human faces at 10fps and possibly even at 25fps but this is something I can not tell about for now
Very interesting, thanks for sharing Neo. Can't wait to find out more about your secret 25fps technique!

..waiting patiently here
__________________
_________________________________________________
I N F I N I T E

Infinite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:40 AM   #14
lazy noob
Junior Member
Points: 98, Level: 1 Points: 98, Level: 1 Points: 98, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Real Name: jerry
Default

how i can buy?

:-)

jerry
lazy noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:07 AM   #15
{bukkit}
Veteran
Points: 13,239, Level: 74 Points: 13,239, Level: 74 Points: 13,239, Level: 74
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
{bukkit}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 614
Real Name: Lukáš
Default

This looks stunning -great work! my jaw just dropped on the floor.
WHEN can i buy it? HOW can i buy it?

{bukkit} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:20 AM   #16
tonytrout
Veteran
Points: 85,570, Level: 100 Points: 85,570, Level: 100 Points: 85,570, Level: 100
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
tonytrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 967
Real Name: tony
Default

Great to see development of this technology with hardware that doesnt require a major studio to fund. Keep up the good work. I would look at buying this once its had the updates Lee talked about above.
tonytrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 04:45 AM   #17
ashrafazlan
Junior Member
Points: 3,093, Level: 34 Points: 3,093, Level: 34 Points: 3,093, Level: 34
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Malaysia
Company: MFX
Posts: 12
Real Name: Ashraf Azlan
Send a message via Yahoo to ashrafazlan
Default

Nikon support would be great Andrew
ashrafazlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2012, 03:32 PM   #18
yaodou
Junior Member
Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Real Name: yao dou
Default hello

Perfect! can I try the 7 free licenses? thx.
yaodou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, russian3dscanner, scanning, structured


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +13. The time now is 09:06 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.